Print Friendly

If you have made lots of updates to your live course, you may want to replace your Master Course with the Live Course.  You have full rights to copy the updates from your live course into the master.

Here’s how:

Log into the Master Course.

Delete everything that you will be updating, so that that part of the course is empty.

Use the Import/Export Copy Components tool to import the changes from the Live Course into the Master.

 

Here’s some step-by-step instructions. Note: The changes you made to your live course will determine what to delete from the master, and then what you need to import from the live course.)

 

If you changed only content:

In Master under Content, tick the box at the top of the table of contents so that all items are selected, then click the Garbage can to delete all items from the Table of Contents.

Now delete the files from the Manage Files area:

At the top of the Contents page, click the Manage Files link.  Tick the box at the top of the files area to select all items, then click the garbage can icon to delete all items.

 

To import the content from your live course to the Master, start by logging into the Master.  Click the Edit Course link at the far right of the NavBar.  Click on the Import/Export/Copy Components link.

Click Start button

Select your live course from the dropdown box and wait for the screen to refresh showing you all the items in that course.

Tick the box in front of Content, Content Display Settings and Course Files.

Click the Continue button

Click the Finish button

Click the Done button

 

Click the Content link in the NavBar to view the content area to see that all is OK.

 

If you just moved things around in the Content area, you just need to delete the Contents, then import only the contents from the live course.

 

If you want to update the Quizzes, Self Assessments or Surveys tools, you need to delete the Quizzes, Self Assessments and Surveys, then ALSO delete the Question Library too.  Then during the import step, import the Quizzes, Self Assessment, Quizzes AND Question Library from the Live Course into the Master.

 

If you are replacing the ENTIRE Master with the ENTIRE Live Course, click through the Master, tool by tool and delete everything in each tool using the tick boxes and garbage can icon.  A couple of the tools are a little different:

NEWS – Click on the dropdown arrow beside the News tool on the home page and select “go to news tool” to find the tick boxes and garbage can icon.

DISCUSSIONS – Click on the More Actions button and select Delete to find the tick boxes and Delete Selected button.

DROPBOX – Click on the More Actions button and select Delete to find the tick boxes and Delete Selected button.

QUIZZES, SELF ASSESSMENTS AND SURVEYS – Click on the More Actions button and select Delete to find the tick boxes and Delete Selected button.

Also click on the Question Library link at the top of the Quizzes page to find the tick boxes and garbage can icon.

 

CONTENTS, LINKS, CHAT, GROUPS all have the tick boxes and garbage can icon visible as soon as you go into those tools.

Remember for CONTENTS, you also need to delete the MANAGE FILES area too.

 

If you see that the Master course does not have all the tools that you want to update activated, you will need to turn on those tools first.  Otherwise those items will not be able to be imported, as there’s no place for them to go.

 

You will need to turn on the tools in the Master before you will be able to import them from the live course.  So, go into the Master, then click on Edit Course.  Click on the Tools link – it’s usually at the bottom of the page.  Activate any missing tools: for example Dropbox and  Groups.  Do this by ticking the box in front of the tool name, then tick the green check mark icon at the bottom of the table, then click the save button at the bottom of the table.  The tools may take 5 or 6 minutes before they become active.  You’ll need to log out of the course and the  back in and they should appear in the tool bar.

 

When you are importing from your live course, be sure to select all the items from the import list, so that they come over.  Remember, if you have already imported any items, and want to import them again, you will need to delete them from the master, otherwise you end up with duplicates of each item – double the content, double the dropboxes, double the quizzes…  The only tool that doesn’t duplicate items is the Manage Files area.  When you import the Course Files, they over-write all files in the Master with the files from the live course.